National Protocols for Higher Education

Revised National Protocols for Higher Education Approval Processes (National Protocols) were approved by the Ministerial Council on Education, Employment, Training and Youth Affairs (MCEETYA) in October 2007.  They were developed and then recommended to MCEETYA by the Joint Committee on Higher Education, a group comprising representatives from each State and Territory Government and the Australian Government.

The National Protocols are designed to ensure consistent criteria and standards across Australia in such matters as the recognition of new universities, the operation of overseas higher education institutions in Australia, and the accreditation of higher education courses to be offered by non self-accrediting institutions.

Following an extensive consultation process, Ministers also agreed in October 2007 to National Guidelines for Higher Education Approval Processes.  Legislative change to give effect to the revised National Protocols and National Guidelines has been, or is being, enacted by the Commonwealth and each State and Territory.

To download a copy of the revised National Protocols and/or the National Guidelines, please click on the appropriate link below:

In this section

Share this Page